Tech mogul Elon Musk recently acquired the microblogging platform Twitter, and a strange trend was seen since the news of the acquisition came out. A few high profile accounts lost thousands of followers and at the same time, other high profile accounts that are pro-conservative actually have seen huge gains in followers. Examples of the former include Barack Obama who lost over 300,000 followers and Katy Perry, who lost 200,000 followers. When it comes to the latter, the President of Brazil got 90,000 more people to follow him on Twitter, with Representative Marjorie Taylor Greene gaining 41,181 followers.
In the midst of this, many have quit Twitter altogether. There have been mass deactivations. In the case of Twitter, you have to first deactivate your account if you want it to be permanently expunged from Twitter’s servers. The deactivation period lasts for 30 days. If you do not try to reactivate your account within that timespan, your account will be permanently deleted. Here are the steps on how to deactivate your Twitter account.
Click on the More icon (the horizontal three-dot icon). Then, from the drop-down menu, go to ‘Settings and privacy’.
From ‘Your account tab’, click on ‘Deactivate your account’.
After you are done reading the account deactivation information, click ‘Deactivate’.
You’ll be asked for your password. After you enter it, click on the ‘Deactivate account’ button.
Now, you have to wait for 30 days for your account to get permanently deleted from the Twitter servers. You won’t be able to access any of your tweets or reactivate your old account once this time period gets over, provided you don’t try to reactivate in the same time frame.
During the 30-days window, your username or “handle” and the public profile will not be viewable on Twitter, be it on the website or the app. Also, once your account gets permanently deleted, your username will be made available for registration by other accounts on Twitter.