36 C
Jaipur
Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Why May 15 is an ‘important’ date for WhatsApp users – Latest News

Must read

NEW DELHI: Ever since the turn of the year, WhatsApp has found itself in a quagmire. It all started when WhatsApp announced its new privacy policy which users had to accept or face their account being deleted. After a lot of hue and cry — and promotional blitzkrieg — WhatsApp postponed the date and explained to users that nothing’s going to change. However, if users were under the illusion that WhatsApp is changing its policy, then they are mistaken. According to a report by TechCrunch, WhatsApp will ask users “slowly” to accept the new terms by May 15 if they want to get all the features of WhatsApp.

What happens if you don’t accept WhatsApp’s new terms?

The report by TechCrunch states that while users will be able to receive calls and notifications, they won’t be able to read or send any messages from the app. Do note that this too will be the case “for a short time”. The short time could extend to a few weeks after that it is likely that user accounts will be deleted if they don’t accept WhatsApp’s new privacy policy.

On its updated FAQ page, WhatsApp clearly notes, “To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won’t have full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you’ll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won’t be able to read or send messages from the app.

What happens after May 15?
Users can still accept the updated privacy policy after May 15. However, it comes with a caveat. WhatsApp says that its policy related to inactive users will apply after May 15. “To maintain security, limit data retention, and protect the privacy of our users, WhatsApp accounts are generally deleted after 120 days of inactivity,” notes WhatsApp’s inactive accounts policy. So chances are that if a user doesn’t accept WhatsApp’s new privacy policy then four months after May 15 — somewhere around September — the account will be deleted.

Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest article